Jessie Ferguson Award

2019 Jessie Ferguson Cathy Sim Rigby
2019 Jessie Ferguson Recipient - Cathy Sim Rigby

Jessie Ferguson Award

Annually the Vernon Winter Carnival Society presents prestigious awards to well deserving recipients who have been instrumental in the growth of Carnival. The Jessie Ferguson Memorial Trophy is presented to a person or group in the community who has shown years of dedication to Carnival through support of events and/or volunteerism.

This Award was originally called the Chairman’s Trophy and was renamed in honour of Jessie Ferguson probably after her death in 1977 or before Carnival in 1978 (exact year unknown). Jessie and her husband, James, immigrated to Canada in 1927, moving to Vernon in 1947. She was one of the most active senior citizens in the community and was involved in at least 8 different volunteer organizations. She had, among other activities, put in more than 3,000 hours as a Cherry Red volunteer worker at Vernon Jubilee Hospital, served as president of the Canadian Legion Auxiliary and worked as a blood donor clinic volunteer. She was named Good Citizen for 1973. Jessie passed away August 15, 1977 10 days after her 80th birthday.

Jessie Ferguson Memorial Trophy Recipients:

1967 Snowflake Presentation

1968 Terry Gower*

1969 G. Preston

1970 J. Hutchinson

1971 Jock Henniker

1972 Wayne Hickson

1973 Sis Arthur

1974 Doreen Brown

1975 Sue Nolan

1976 Isabel Medynski


1978 Dick File

1979 Ed Elegel *

1980 Bob Ingersol

1981 Stella Andrew*

1982 Ken Little*

1983 Lil-Ken Nishor *

1984 Colleen Vollan

1985 Audrey King

1986 Patrick Nicol*

1987 Jack Koch

1988 Al Skaley *

1989 Jim Alverberg

1990 Ken Nistor

1991 George Zimmerman

1992 Claire Hart

1993 Carnival Cops

1994 Bert Niehaus

1995 Jim Bailey

1996 Ed Forslund

1997 Carl Rigby

1998 Sid Baker *

1999 VJH Hospital Auxillary

2000 Wayne McGrath

2001 Heather Rawsthorne


2003 Christel Cam*

2004 Brenda Fletcher

2005 Sharon MacKenzie

2006 Coldstream Women’s Institute

2007 Brad Albrecht

2008 Herb Lee

2009 Mary Anderson

2010 Debbie Antony

2011 Calvin Hoy

2012 Bob Findley

2013 Margaret Hogan

2014 June Rigby

2015 Coleen Noel

2016 Joy Stafford

2017 Ron Morgan

2018 Alvin Timm

2019 Cathy Sim Rigby

Our 2020 Carnival Sponsors

Explore Vernon

Welcome to Vernon, British Columbia, a playground where adventure awaits around every corner. We’ve got everything you need right here to plan a fantastic trip to Vernon, from top tips on where to shop, eat, sleep and play!

Learn More